Solved Building a hardware database: how to list system hardware?

I'm relatively new to FreeBSD, and I had trouble getting the hardware on my laptop to work. I was thinking about building a new desktop from scratch, but I could not find a compatibility table for the various components.

I'm thinking of giving back by starting a compatibility database for system hardware, but in order to get started, but I have a few questions before getting started.
  • Is there interest in a database like this?
  • Has someone already started something like this? I found some info on the wiki, but it didn't seem very extensive.
  • What's the best way of detecting installed hardware?
I'm thinking of making a simple utility that detects hardware, asks the user what works OOTB, what works after configuration and what doesn't work. For now, I think I'll focus on system hardware, but I probably want to get into peripherals as well (e.g. USB WiFi drivers)

I found pciconf(8) and a few other utilities linked from there (ioctl(2) is probably what I want long term). Is there something else that I should be looking into for this type of project? I think I need a user-friendly term, interface (PCI, SATA, etc) and chipset on the device.

I'm relatively new to FreeBSD, and I had trouble getting the hardware on my laptop to work. I was thinking about building a new desktop from scratch, but I could not find a compatibility table for the various components.

I'm thinking of giving back by starting a compatibility database for system hardware, but in order to get started, but I have a few questions before getting started.
  • Is there interest in a database like this?
  • Has someone already started something like this? I found some info on the wiki, but it didn't seem very extensive.
  • What's the best way of detecting installed hardware?