System time changed by itself

On FreeBSD10, I've been running a server on a KVM for about six months or so and a couple of days ago, the system time moved forward two hours. I think I noticed this last Spring when our clocks roll forward but it's too soon for the clocks to roll back for "daylight savings time" and that change should only be one hour.

I do have America/Chicago as my timezone in /etc/localtime and a zdump shows the time change for November 2nd. So is there something with ntpd() causing this? Don't know.

I was wondering if anyone seen this type of problem. Here’s my story but every event may not be the exact way. I been trying to understand why for months and only accidently fix something without knowing it or did not. I don't even know where the problem came from; out the box, while ssh'ng ports, or what.

First I thought it was a GNOME issue because the time would show 2 hours behind or ahead (i forgot) of my time set in the BIOS. After a re-set it would keep coming back after reboot, and stay there. I learn to live with it. No ntpd installed and I don’t use it. I only connect to FreeBSD to install ports and then I pull the internet cable when finish because this machine is not internet ready yet. It is not a play toy to play guesting games with. I plan for it to be a secure workstation to connect to remote server someday.

Anyway, I have not been connected to FreeBSD to install anything for a over a week and my time is as of now correct under GNOME. I think how I fix last week was to pop the battery out the machine
to drain the BIOS than I reset time and everything else, than GNOME displayed the correct time but it did not help VirtualBox.

That was the other strange thing that been going on since day1 as above; under Virtualbox the time was always ahead or behind by behind hours (I forgot). But when I set correct time to Windows-XP