Problem installing FreeBSD - Read Error: 0x20

Hey Guys,

I'm trying to install FreeBSD 8.1 on a server (Sun Fire x4200, Dual Core AMD Opteron 2,6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, RAID 1 67 GB HDD).

When the server boots up, I get the message:

Code:
cd loader 1.2
building the boot loader arguments
looking up /boot/loader... found
read error: 0x20

And that's it, the server kind of chrashes after that message. I have no idea what to do, i'm totally new to FreeBSD. I googled and found this (http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=19291&highlight=read+error+0x20) which is not working for me.

Can anyone help me? If you need more information, please let me know.

Thanks so far
Jan

I'm guessing that the image you downloaded is corrupt. Did you compare the hashes before burning?

How can I do this?

I burned the image to a cd and booted my laptop with it. And the installation just started fine.

For testing, I downloaded the current fedora version and the installation wont start too.

Code:
no root device found. boot has failed, sleeping for ever

Help!

I have checked the iso-file...it is ok.

I have to new harddrives. there is nothing on it. They came direct out of the box into the servers. Could that be a problem?

doublejay, I suspect you have a hardware problem with your server. Did you just flash your bios to a newer version? Getting ACPI errors? Linux halting abrutly after looking at the hardware? The system posts bios fine but any OS whether Linux, FreeBSD, or Windows will not work? Those are signs of BIOS issues. I recommend you troubleshoot your BIOS and then retry the installation using the same image.

I tried to install Windows Server 2008. It worked just fine. Now I'm doing a couple of tests with the Linix Suse installer. Seems like everything is ok.

I updated the bios to the latest version before I tried to install FreeBSD the first time. I also downgraded it in the meantime. I always got the same message:

Code:
cd loader 1.2