How to install a browser

I'm new to BSD and am trying to install a browser, I've installed the firefox package but I'm not sure how to run it. I've also installed the Opera browser, but when I type opera into the command it says,

opera: cannot connect to X server
opera: Fatal error on creating Qt application object

One configures/installs xorg
(xorg, xorg-lite, xorg-minimal or something)
then configures it (may take a while)
(screen resolution, mouse, video card, etc)
then installs and configures a window manager, though
I think twm maybe is default with Xorg.
then if /xterm/ or /roxterm/ or /aterm/ or another
is installed, one can type
"opera" etc into the terminal with the X-server
background, and the browser should start, and connect
if your network is up.

I might have missed a few steps.

hmm, I tried working the xorg thing, but all i get is a black screen and the computer becomes unresponsive, is there any way to run a browser without xorg?

looks like i'm gonna have to try to fix xorg first. My problem is when I run startx the screen goes black and I no longer have use of my keyboard or mouse, I have to turn it off manually, I'm using a usb keyboard and mouse so I don't know if hald and dbus will work.

commanderwill said:
I did, with the same results. Black screen no response from the keyboard.

Please read the Handbook section on X11 Configuration shown by Hinata. It will save you time.

Those services only get started after a reboot. You can start them manually:
# service dbus start
# service hald start

I've read the manuals thoroughly, it must be the drivers I'll see if I can find them. It has an Intel 855gm card. Thanks for the help so far.

Thanks, looks like a lot of people who have the intel 855GM have the same problem, they said they used VESA to get it to somewhat work, I'm not quite sure how to get that to work, do you know?