10.0-RELEASE -> 10.1-RELEASE on Raspberry Pi?

I have installed ports using Ethernet, and there is a mention of pkg at some point when one tries to explore that route.

portsnap fetch takes a while, portsnap extract takes even longer. Like a day for the whole thing.

Code:
Raspberry Pi model B Revision 2 (512 MB)
FreeBSD 10.0-RELEASE r260789

Have a good day,

a5'

How long does a full make buildworld buildkernel take on that hardware? If it's something tolerable you could do a source based upgrade.

I have no experience with buildworld and buildkernel. I never built a kernel. I'm probably going about it the hard way but in all of my experience with FreeBSD (which is limited) I have never built a kernel.

To the point though, I was going to mention in that post that I am kind of a 'dumb' user, that is I just get the image and put it on the SD chip. Although it works fine, no firmware replacement, no configuration of config.txt... the only problem is that the text is somewhat off the screen, which I mentioned here: https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/rpi-console-spills-off-screen-on-tv-video.48857/.

Thanks,

a5'

The question wasn't about ports, it was about upgrading the base from 10.0 to 10.1 without having to just wipe the SD card and start over again.

Which is what I wound up doing in the meantime.

How long does a full make buildworld buildkernel take on that hardware? If it's something tolerable you could do a source based upgrade.
I ran across this while looking for an answer to how long buildworld will take. I already made buildkernel from the 10.1-RELEASE sources using the stock (RPI-B) configuration, that took 5.5 hours. It might be slightly faster if I hadn't nice'd it, however, the Raspberry Pi was mostly idle so that shouldn't account for much.

It's a Model B, my clock settings are:
Code:
arm_freq=900
arm_freq_min=700
core_freq=400
core_freq_min=250
sdram_freq=500
sdram_freq_min=400
avoid_pwm_pll=1
over_voltage=6
over_voltage_min=0