Solved (1) Slim: "Failed to execute login command" & (2) Single user mode: "insufficient privileges"

Hello FreeBSD folks. I'm new to FreeBSD, but have installed (and experimented with) it over 50 times now (with Handbook "in hand") so I'm beginning to understand how it works. I think it's awesome! That said, I've hit a wall and need help.

Also, this is my first post. I have read the guidelines; nonetheless, I seem to learn via trial and error so please forgive my formatting mistakes.

------
Problem #1: My latest install boots into Slim successfully, but after correctly entering my username and password, it takes me to a screen that reads, "Failed to execute login command."

Background: I installed FreeBSD 13.1, the Spectrwm window manager, and the Slim display manager. To launch the latter two, I put exec spectrwm in my ~/.xinitrc file and slim_enable="YES" in my /etc/rc.conf file, respectively.

Theory: Having never encountered this problem with my usual display managers, SDDM or GDM, I imagine this has something to do with the slim.conf and/or /etc/rc.conf contents. That is, using Slim perhaps requires different preparation for launch than SDDM and GDM.

Research: I read up on Slim (which I failed to do beforehand, eesh) and this specific 'failed login' problem in this forum and found that perhaps it's necessary to put the full path to /usr/bin/spectrwm into ~/.xinitrc. Obviously, I can't validate the path, nor experiment with that idea, because I'm locked out.

Problem #2: In the hopes of solving this, perhaps by simply removing Slim and installing SDDM, I entered Single-user Mode and reached the Root prompt. I then attempted to load some files (via nano and cat and also to install SDDM, but no matter what command I entered, I continually received (something like), "you do not have sufficient privileges to install...etc."