Solved 1 Host, 2 Interfaces, same network

Hey there,
I am new to FreeBSD, networking, and newer to the forums, so excuse me if this is a silly question or a repeat (i tried to search), but here it goes:

I have a server w/ 2 interfaces (igb0 and igb1) assigned IP X.X.X.2/24 and X.X.X.3/24.
igb0 is plugged into a serial device server (X.X.X.12/24) and igb1 is plugged into a switch (X.X.X.13).

igb0 (X.X.X.2) is working just fine. However, igb1 (X.X.X.3) cannot communicate with anything, even ping is failing.

I have not done any routing or further configuration.

Is there a problem having the two ports on the same network like this? What is causing igb1 to not be able to communicate?

Output of netstart -rn:
Code:
Destination                Gateway              Flags              Netif
127.0.0.1                    link#3                  UH                 lo0
X.X.X.0/24                  link#1                  U                    igb0
X.X.X.2                       link#1                  UHS                lo0
X.X.X.3                        link#2                 UHS                lo0

The problem with lagg(4) is that both cables need to go to the same device. So you should plug in both cables from the server to the switch and connect the serial device server also to the switch - which is, in my opinion, a better design anyway.

Not only will this result in a working setup, but using lagg(4) also adds redundancy to your network connections. Win-win.

Yes, you shouldn't do that. If you want to do this you should look into lagg(4) or bridge(4).

Because it's going to use igb0. Note your routing table, igb0 is the only interface that's "directly" connected to X.X.X.0/24.

How do I "directly" connect the other interfaces to X.X.X.0/24?