Emby instead of Plex ?

I've been using multimedia/plexmediaserver for a few years and in the grand scheme of things it seems like a decent media server system. Although I guess like a lot of other good application programs, scope creep and the resultant bloat sets in. But that's fine we just buy more cpu and ram right?

In doing some searching one evening I found this:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/is-plex-dead-on-freebsd.50534/

So even though Plex folks have not made it official, the 'body language' of the conversation does seem to suggest that the Plex folks are really considering abandoning a native install for FreeBSD. So for that and other reasons, including the above, I have been trialing multimedia/emby-server and WOW I got to say I love it so far. Out of the gate it seems to be a great media server, but if you want, just pop the bonnet, and start tinkering with the more advanced settings. Emby seems to be designed with the power user in mind, and when running both simultaneously top shows Emby using less memory on my 10.3-RELEASE.

But can't help wonder if their are some surprises or gotchas with Emby that I don't know about yet? Or maybe Plex too? What do you think? I would really like to hear what you folks have to say? At some point in time I will be making a decision, or maybe the folks at Plex will make it for me.

I too use Plex on FreeBSD as my home media server. One of the big features that drew me to Plex (that may not be obvious) is that it will transcode on the fly. An Intel Core i3 can transcode 1080p@30fps. This is very handy if the device doing the playing does not support the encoded format.

Another handy (and not as easy to find) variation on transcoding is that Plex can be configured to pre-transcode some media files to be optimal for specific devices. Thus a lower bit-rate for when you are connecting remotely, a 720p (or 480p) for your old TV while retaining the original.

How is Emby at transcoding?