choose MTA

good day,
I am new in Freebsd and want to use it in all my web projects.
Now I am in doubt about which MTA I should use, whether SendMail or Postfix.

please I need to know which is the most reliable to use.

Thank you.

Both sendmail and postfix are very reliable. If you are unfamiliar with MTA configuring, postfix is easier to configure, IMHO.

In this day and age, few people actually uses MTAs. That's because setting one up has become hard, due to spam. Most mail forwarders and input hosts will not accept mail from arbitrary hosts, unless authentication has been arranged carefully. Most people just forward their mail to an external mail hosting provider. While sendmail (and presumably postfix) can be taught to do that, there are much simpler packages that can accomplish the same thing.

It is a mythos that sendmail is (today) harder to configure than others. I have sendmail configured and gave up configuring other. Mail is a simple and old technik, but among usual servers MTA is the most difficult to configure. Better concentrate your efforts on sendmail instead of searching for alternatives.

Most mail forwarders and input hosts will not accept mail from arbitrary hosts, unless authentication has been arranged carefully.

Authentication is for receiving mail, that is very simple with sendmail. What he needs for relaying to other is more dependent from the DNS and not the MTA:

(I never configured the last).

For an MTA nowadays, I'd say just use the one you already know and feel comfortable with configuring. Many years ago, when Debian switched their default MTA from sendmail to exim, I followed that some time later, and found it a lot easier to understand exim's configuration. Since then, I never used any other MTA, mainly because I don't want to start learning all over :)