updating ports: make index... make fetchindex

i updated my ports tree last night with cvsup... now should i use
"make index"
or
"make fetchindex"

ive always used make fetchindex, but for some reason last night i used make index and it was *beep**beep**beep**beep**beep*ing about perl not being found.

Make index will create the index by looking at your current ports tree. Make fetchindex will just fetch the index from a repository server. Fetchindex has the potential of fetching a different index compared to the ports tree that is actually on your system.

I've been using csup and make index for many years and have grown accustomed to it, portsnap is more geared towards new users or one's that don't mess with the ports tree themselves.

cool, ok. well when i get back home im going to update the ports tree again and post the perl error i was getting. thx.

If you did cvsup or csup

Code:
/usr/ports# portsdb -Uu

should follow.

After make fetchindex

Code:
/usr/ports# portsdb -u
/usr/ports# portversion -l "<"
/usr/ports# portupgrade -arR

Unless you have lots of time on your hands, or you run it automatically at night, make fetchindex is preferred. The INDEX file on the download server is generated multiple times throughout the day, so there's very little chance of it being out-of-sync with the ports tree.

Last time I ran make index (before fetchindex was made available), it took 4 hours of disk thrashing to complete.

Erratus said:
If you did cvsup or csup

Code:
/usr/ports# portsdb -Uu

I really wish people would stop advocating the use of non-standard tools. portsdb is not part of the base OS. It's part of the portupgrade port. Not everyone uses the portupgrade port. Some don't use any ports management tools, others use portmaster, others use portmanager, etc.

Code:
/usr/ports# portsdb -u
/usr/ports# portversion -l "<"
/usr/ports# portupgrade -arR

Same with these, they're part of the portupgrade suite of tools, and not available on every system.