Solved Vim search and replace

I am new to Freebsd. I recently had a file where I wanted to eliminate every occurance of "late" in a fstab file.
My linux experience told me that :%s/late//g would work. It did not. Despite a futile attempt to find an equivalent using
:help, I was unsuccessful. There are apparently differences between gnu vim and freebsd vim.

Two questions:
1. How would I accomplish the same thing in Freebsd vim?

2. Are there any other resources besides :help that would help me learn the Freebsd version of vim?

Thanks for any and all help. It is much appreciated. :)

[...] I wanted to eliminate every occurance of "late" in a fstab file.
My linux experience told me that :%s/late//g would work. It did not. Despite a futile attempt to find an equivalent using
:help, I was unsuccessful.
:%s/late//g should normally do the trick. However, the meaning of the global "g" is influenced by the options gdefault and edcompatible - verify both options are off (i.e. set to their default values).

Apparently, my issue was some kind of fluke.🤔 I have attempted to replicate the issue without
success. However, I do appeciate your input. Have a great day. :)

JFTR, there's no "GNU vim" either :cool: – the vim authors might value the clarification, hehe
Something I didn't realize until now, they have their own license too.

Vim is Charityware. You can use and copy it as much as you like, but you are
encouraged to make a donation for needy children in Uganda. Please see |kcc|
below or visit the ICCF web site, available at these URLs:

http://iccf-holland.org/
http://www.vim.org/iccf/
http://www.iccf.nl/

You can also sponsor the development of Vim. Vim sponsors can vote for
features. See |sponsor|. The money goes to Uganda anyway.

The Open Publication License applies to the Vim documentation, see
|manual-copyright|.

I am new to Freebsd. I recently had a file where I wanted to eliminate every occurance of "late" in a fstab file.