Problem: Freebsd login session to start with unwanted “FreeBSD Install menu”

Problem: Freebsd login session to start with unwanted “FreeBSD Install menu”

:( Hi Friends,

I am a newbie whom using x64 version of FreeBSD 9.1-RC1 which was working fine till a corruption of /boot folder occurred.

After several unsuccessful reboots, I used my FreeBSD LiveCD for having a shell session which allowed me to manually mount the system, delete corrupted boot, download kernel.txz and base.txz from ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/amd64/9.1-RC1/ and copying their /boot related files to / for populating a new /boot.

After that I ran "make kernel" from /usr/src for kernel rebuilding. When it’s done I retrieved LiveCD and rebooted the system and got:
- FreeBSD Installer menu (Install - Shell - LiveCD) as default session on ttyv0 instead of normal login session
- ttyv1 (ALT-F2) unavailable
- ttyv2 (ALT-F3) displaying maintenance information by itself
- ttyv3 (ALT-F4) gave a direct access to my normal root session without login and password. X window and all system capabilities are available also
-ttyv4 … ttyv7 unavailable​

I maybe wrong to think those above mismatches could be fixed without to reinstall the whole system but I think they might be fixed through some parameter settings within some configuration or init files involved in the boot and/or login processes or other pending task (like pending install) but I haven’t the needed knowledge for doing that without help.

So I need your advised help for booting no in “FreeBSD Install menu” but in a normal FreesBSD session with login and password, and having ttyv0…ttyv7 working normally.

Thanks

You are still booting the installer somehow. Remove CDs and USB sticks and images of them, if it's in a VM.

The system is not in VM but in a secondary hdd /dev/ada1 in /dev/ada1s3 slice.

For information see below output of bsdlabel(8) and df(1) in case of...

Code:
root@hpfreebsd:/root # bsdlabel /dev/ada1s3