ports = compiler = danger ?

Hi all,

This is not meant to critique the FreeBSD system as whole or the ports tree, it is just a curiosity. When I was a younger and green admin I was told that having a compiler installed on a production or perimeter machine is a bad thing. Now, the ports mechanism assumes you are able to install software compiling it, so isn't this possibly a risk?

Just curious...

Yes, that's correct. You can build the base system without any compilers. But that also means you can only install packages, not ports.

SirDice said:
You can build the base system without any compilers.

Huh? How do you build the base system if there are no compilers? Sure, you can install the base system without any compilers, but doesn't "build" mean that you're compiling it?

Adam

Meh, deinstall build dependencies and remove compiler-related binaries from the base system. Reinstall/restore them when updating. :e

adamk said:
Huh? How do you build the base system if there are no compilers? Sure, you can install the base system without any compilers, but doesn't "build" mean that you're compiling it?
You can do the building on another machine. Then export /usr/src/ and /usr/obj/ to install it.

True. I hadn't throught of that.

Still, though, you're building the base system with a compiler. Just a compiler on a different machine :)

Adam

Yeah, I should have explained it a bit better. I always build systems that way so it's more or less second nature for me. Granted I never remove the compiler though, I'm not that security paranoid on my own machines. But for production systems I would definitely remove them.

No sense in giving a potential attacker all the tools needed to break stuff even further :e

Since the programs needed to compile (cc, gcc, g++, ld, etc...) are owned by root and belongs to the wheel group you could change their permissions, for example:

# chmod 550 /usr/bin/gcc

So only the users in the wheel group can use the compiler.