ZFS Is iSCSI the best protocol to access a network attached ZFS storage server?

I'm pretty new to this and was wondering if iSCSI is the protocol I should look into using or whether something like SMB or NFS would be better? I'm looking for the best performance and stability.

You don't say enough about your use case.

Performance will be similar except that iSCSI has much more local caching, because the block device is on the client, and because no regards need to be paid to other clients (or the server) modifying the contents on their own.

I generally prefer NFS since I can see and change things on the server clearly.

You don't say enough about your use case.

Performance will be similar except that iSCSI has much more local caching, because the block device is on the client, and because no regards need to be paid to other clients (or the server) modifying the contents on their own.

I generally prefer NFS since I can see and change things on the server clearly.
Sorry. I should have been clearer.

I'm building a website which will host large amounts of media (audio and video). I'll have a large ZFS server for handling the files. I'll access them from an application server running the Flask web framework and the Nginx HTTP server. I want to be able to stream the media to multiple clients at the same time. Unfortunately I can't give figures as the site is still in development and I have no real world data at this time.

I'm building a website which will host large amounts of media (audio and video). I'll have a large ZFS server for handling the files. I'll access them from an application server running the Flask web framework and the Nginx HTTP server.
In that case I'd probably use NFS. You could mount it on more than one webserver frontend (useful if you want to load balance).