FreeBSD and Ubuntu for tunneling

Hi guys,

I have some problem about my testbed on tunneling. First and foremost, I am a newbie of FreeBSD and already familiar with Ubuntu. Currently, I need to build 6to4 tunnel but using different operating systems. Both of them are going to be routers. So, this is an example source code of 6to4 tunnel in terms of different OS:

6to4tunnel.jpg

Linux
Code:
# ip -4 addr show dev ppp0
3: eth0:  <BROADCATS, MULTICAST, UP, LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 100
    inet 203.211.79.44/24 brd 203.211.79.255/24 scope global eth0

# ip tunnel add tun6to4 mode sit remote any local 203.211.79.44

# ip link set dev tun6to4 mtu 1472 up

# ip link show dev tun6to4
8: tun6to4@NONE: <NOARP, UP, LOWER_UP> mtu 1472 qdisc noqueue 
    link/sit 203.211.79.44 brd 0.0.0.0

#ifconfig tun6to4
tun6to4   Link encap: IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2002:CBD3:4FC::1/64 scope: Global
          inet6 addr: ::203.211.74.44/128 Scope: Compat
          UP RUNNING NOARP MTU:1472 Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrund:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrund:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Problems:

1) After I create the tunnel interface in Ubuntu and restart the network, why the network interface configure to ignore the unknown interface tun6to4=tun6to4:q From my research, to create the tunnel it doesn’t mention about NIC and commonly the NIC familiar with this interface only like eth0, eth1, lo and etc. Is there any installation for creating other interface in NIC for Ubuntu like tun6to4:q

2) Besides, I try to ping6 to routers of FreeBSD but the result always shows Destination unreachable: Address unreachable even I have added route and destination of the router it said no route to host. So, never mind I consider that the part of FreeBSD doesn’t setup very well.
 

FreeBSD
Code:
# ifconfig stf0 create