CF card failing, what to do?

I have a Samba Server that uses FreeBSD 7.2 installed on a Compact Flash (with IDE adapter), booting from IDE, using SATA drives only for storage.

Few days ago crashed, and now it will not boot. Doing a fsck on that CF card I get:

Code:
# fsck -t ufs -y /dev/da2s1a
** /dev/da2s1a
BAD SUPER BLOCK: VALUES IN SUPER BLOCK DISAGREE WITH THOSE IN FIRST ALTERNATE
ioctl (GCINFO): Inappropriate ioctl for device
fsck_ufs: /dev/da2s1a: can't read disk label

So I think either:
- my CF is failing (I probably could try to fdisk/disklabel/newfs-it).
- CF is ok but file sistem is messed up because of a system crash? (I only have few crashes last 4-5 months)

I've run FreeBSD for like an year or so (7.0 first) with no problems until now, I also had mounted CF in fstab with "noatime" to protect compact flash card.

So my questions are:
1. in my current setup with few logs written to CF, with no atime how much time will work my server until CF fails? (assuming that I have a good - brandname CF)

2. what should I do to protect this from happening? (should I use ZFS or gjournal? or what other choices are and which is best, considering it is about a CF with limited writes, and not a hard drive)

thank you and best regards

This is a corrupted filesystem, most likely due to the power fail. The superblock is the core of the UFS filesystem. This block tells it where everything begins. If you can't access the superblock, you can't access the filesystem. Which is why UFS keeps a bunch of backups of the superblock (you see this in the output of the newfs command when you format a UFS filesystem).

The error is saying that the main UFS superblock does not match the first backup of the superblock, and it doesn't know which one to use.