another SSD partitioning thread....

I'm kind of new to FreeBSD, and *nix in general. I'm using it on an X200 Thinkpad and it's great, everything just works.

I bought a 32GB Corsair SSD just for FreeBSD, but was made aware of this whole partition alignment thing. It seems like a lot of trouble. Not sure if I should just stick with a platter drive for now.

I wanted to know...during sysinstall I just use the whole disk. At the part where I specify I guess the 'logical' partition GB for /, swap, /var, /tmp, /usr. Would these be "unaligned". Sorry if it's a dumb question.

The partition (/dev/disk0s1 or whatever)? That is the slice. Take care of this with the 'Fdisk' option; there you basically slice your disk.

It is after this that you (after being asked about the bootloader) will partition the slice. It can have eight partitions (seven, to be specific).

To be succinct (basic order in a standard installation; I use my setup as example):

Fdisk (THIS is where you tell what space or slice you want to set up):
Code:
/dev/ad4s1      165     FreeBSD

Bootloader (up to you; take care)

Label (THIS is where you set up):
Code:
Part            MtPt
----            ----
ad4s1a          /
ad4s1b          swap
ad4s1d          /var
ad4s1e          /tmp
ad4s1f          /usr

Do not try to use /dev/disk0s1c (FreeBSD makes that the entire disk)

The problem with SSDs is the same as with "advanced format" drives. They use 4K or larger blocks but lie about it, pretending to use 512-byte blocks. For performance, partitions should be aligned to land on an even multiple of the block size. See The New Alternate Method: gpart(8) in Disk Setup On FreeBSD. That's untested by me because I've avoided such drives so far.