Solved very odd freebsd-update upgrade interaction with mounted slice

I am running freebsd-update upgrade to upgrade from 11.0-BETA4 to 11.0-RC1. It is taking forever (as compared with previous times that I upgraded using this method). It seems to be attempting to do something with files in another slice in another disk where I have Fedora (which is an ext4 slice mounted readonly as /mnt/fedora in my FreeBSD system).

I have used Linux for years but I am a FreeBSD beginner. What is going on here? Why is freebsd-update concerning itself with /mnt/fedora as that has nothing to do with the base system? I have probably a million or more files in Fedora that is why this is taking so long, there are thousands upon thousands of lines like the one below scrolling up on my screen and it takes forever!

Code:
cp: ///boot/kernel.old/./mnt/fedora/home/xxxxx/devel/beaglebone/buildroot-2013.02-Buildroot_toolchain/output/build/host-binutils-2.21.1/ld/scripttempl/elfd30v.sc: Cross-device link

BSDfanNo2, if the error message is accurate, it appears to be looking at
/boot/kernel.old/mnt/…
, which shouldn't exist in a normal system. Do you perhaps have a rogue symlink there which should not exist and should be deleted?

As a general bit of advice, I would suggest avoiding having "foreign" filesystems mounted while doing upgrades. It shouldn't cause an ugly failure normally, but it's usually just unnecessary risk and clutter for the upgrade process.

I used this command to mount the Fedora partition, no rogue sym link:

mount -r -t ext2fs /dev/ada0s3 /mnt/fedora

I thought that (per the Handbook) /mnt was the recommended folder for mounting? I will keept in mind your suggestion to unmount file systems before running freebsd-update!

In any case inadvertently I pressed ^C and stopped the update process, which appeared to be stuck somewhere else as scrolling had stopped for a long time (even though htop showed high CPU utilisation). The last line was this: