1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The FreeBSD SysAdmin's Favorite Tools

Discussion in 'General' started by APseudoUtopia, Nov 17, 2008.

1. APseudoUtopia

APseudoUtopia New Member

Hey everyone,

I've been using FreeBSD for about 2 years now, and I've loved every minute of it. I've been discovering new programs/tools almost every week that do something that just make me think "damn, that was cool!"

I was thinking it would be helpful to newcomers, as well as users like myself, and even maybe experienced gurus, to make up a list of awesome sysadmin software. Such as sysutils like portupgrade, lsof, mtr, and other software like cacti, whatmask, cmdwatch, and daemontools.

So, what's your favorite FreeBSD sysadmin tool? Please include a quick description of it.

2. brd@

brd@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

Hmm.. lets see..

Nagios - Monitor your network to make sure the services and hosts are up.
    Samhain - File integrity monitor.
    Portaudit - Check your install ports against a database of vulnerable ports.
    Screen - Terminal multiplexer.

Thats all I can think of right now..

3. jonathan

jonathan New Member

ive done nagios, but ive just recently discovered zabbix at my new job. it has both a server and client, and can tell you just about everything you never wanted to know about windows, *.nix, and practically any host you want to monitor.

4. ken

ken New Member

Too many to list but one in particular worthy of mention is portmaster. I used portupgrade for years, and it was a godsend in it's day, but for last couple have replaced with Doug Barton's excellent portmaster

/bin/sh based so no need for additional packages such as Ruby, db4, etc. Also much, much faster.

5. bsddaemon

bsddaemon New Member

My pick would be SSH, tcpdump, sed, awk and shell script. Cant leave home without them :D

6. hedwards

hedwards New Member