Nvidia GPU Monitoring Tools

This topic has already been partly discussed (Thread getting-more-information-about-the-gpu-and-libraries-loaded.80906), but for fellow users with a dedicated Nvidia GPU, I wanted to share my experience with the various GUI and CLI monitoring tools that I find useful as well as instructions on how to install them. This is my first attempt at a guide of this type, so please be forgiving of any errors or imperfections!

I am running 13.2-RELEASE with Nvidia Driver v525.116.03 and a Nvidia GTX 1660Ti, but these should work on any reasonably recent OS version and card.

Currently, I use four different CLI and GUI tools to monitor GPU usage:
  1. nvidia-smi - installed with Nvidia driver (x11/nvidia-driver)
  2. nvidia-settings (x11/nvidia-settings)
  3. nvtop - compiled from source, see below
  4. nvitop - Python package installable using devel/py-pip
Each of these has its own pros and cons, which I'll describe in the sections below.

nvidia-settings
x11/nvidia-settings has quite a few useful features, but as a GUI app, it is not really suitable as a monitoring tool for remote servers.

nvidia-smi
The ordinary behaviour of nvidia-smi is to output GPU info only once upon invocation, which is not ideal for continuous monitoring. In my case, the -l flag, which is intended to serve as a kind of solution for this, caused the output to print repeatedly to the console. Therefore, I've found it's better to combine nvidia-smi with misc/gnu-watch, e.g.:
Code:
gnu-watch -n 0.5 nvidia-smi

nvtop