1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mounting my second drive.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by enCyde, May 7, 2012.

  1. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.

    I have done a clean install of FreeBSD 9.0, I was using 8.2 before. I need a guideline or anything to help me get my second hard drive available again. I have really important stuff on it so I don't just want to jump in sysinstall or anything before asking first. Here is some information from /var/run/dmesg.boot


    Code:
    ada0: <Maxtor 6E040T0 NAN51680> ATA-7 SATA 1.x device
    ada0: 150.000MB/s transfers (SATA, UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
    ada0: 38166MB (78165360 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
    ada0: Previously was known as ad4
    ada1 at ata3 bus 0 scbus3 target 0 lun 0
    ada1: <WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 80.00A80> ATA-8 SATA 2.x device
    ada1: 150.000MB/s transfers (SATA, UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
    ada1: 953869MB (1953525168 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
    ada1: Previously was known as ad6


    I can see that my system found my second drive
    Code:
    ada1
    Now I just need help to make it available for me. I used the disk on 8.2 and to access it I just did cd
    Code:
    /dump
    and that is the label for my second drive.

    thank you.
     
  2. Uniballer

    Uniballer Member

    Messages:
    252
    Thanks Received:
    26
    What do you get when you type ls -l /dev/ad*
     
  3. wblock@

    wblock@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    Messages:
    11,723
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    The old system had an entry to automount the drive in /etc/fstab. The new one does not. Add it, or manually mount(8) the drive when you want to use it.
     
  4. shitson

    shitson New Member

    Messages:
    181
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/ad1* 


    What does this yield?
     
  5. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    As wblock noted, have a look at your /etc/fstab. There's probably an entry for /dev/ad6. The device names changed between 8.x and 9.0:
    Code:
    ada1: Previously was known as ad6
    
     
  6. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replays guys. Here is some answers.

    Code:
    ls -l /dev/ad1*


    Code:
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            4 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4 -> ada0
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p1 -> ada0p1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p2 -> ada0p2
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p3 -> ada0p3
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            4 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6 -> ada1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6s1 -> ada1s1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            7 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6s1d -> ada1s1d
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  88 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  99 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 101 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p2
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 103 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p3
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  97 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 105 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1s1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 111 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1s1d
    


    and if I take a look at my /etc/fstab

    Code:
    # Device        Mountpoint      FStype  Options Dump    Pass#
    /dev/ada0p2     /               ufs     rw      1       1
    /dev/ada0p3     none            swap    sw      0       0
    
     
  7. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Add to /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    /dev/ada1s1d  /dump ufs rw 2 2
    


    Then mount it with # mount /dump
     
  8. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I need to reboot after that, right?
     
  9. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Nope. Should work right away.
     
  10. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    /etc/fstab

    Code:
    # Device        Mountpoint      FStype  Options Dump    Pass#
    /dev/ada0p2     /               ufs     rw      1       1
    /dev/ada0p3     none            swap    sw      0       0
    /dev/ada1s1d   /dump            ufs     rw      2       2



    Code:
    l4m3rz# mount /dump
    mount: /dump: No such file or directory
    


    Hmm..
     
  11. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    The directory you're going to mount(8) a filesystem on needs to exist.

    # mkdir /dump
     
    enCyde thanks for this.
  12. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SirDice.

    You are the man!

    Thanks a lot.