1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mounting my second drive.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by enCyde, May 7, 2012.

  1. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    I have done a clean install of FreeBSD 9.0, I was using 8.2 before. I need a guideline or anything to help me get my second hard drive available again. I have really important stuff on it so I don't just want to jump in sysinstall or anything before asking first. Here is some information from /var/run/dmesg.boot


    Code:
    ada0: <Maxtor 6E040T0 NAN51680> ATA-7 SATA 1.x device
    ada0: 150.000MB/s transfers (SATA, UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
    ada0: 38166MB (78165360 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
    ada0: Previously was known as ad4
    ada1 at ata3 bus 0 scbus3 target 0 lun 0
    ada1: <WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 80.00A80> ATA-8 SATA 2.x device
    ada1: 150.000MB/s transfers (SATA, UDMA5, PIO 8192bytes)
    ada1: 953869MB (1953525168 512 byte sectors: 16H 63S/T 16383C)
    ada1: Previously was known as ad6
    I can see that my system found my second drive
    Code:
    ada1
    Now I just need help to make it available for me. I used the disk on 8.2 and to access it I just did cd
    Code:
    /dump
    and that is the label for my second drive.

    thank you.
     
  2. Uniballer

    Uniballer Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    What do you get when you type ls -l /dev/ad*
     
  3. wblock@

    wblock@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    Messages:
    11,257
    Likes Received:
    25
    The old system had an entry to automount the drive in /etc/fstab. The new one does not. Add it, or manually mount(8) the drive when you want to use it.
     
  4. shitson

    shitson New Member

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/ad1* 
    What does this yield?
     
  5. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    16
    As wblock noted, have a look at your /etc/fstab. There's probably an entry for /dev/ad6. The device names changed between 8.x and 9.0:
    Code:
    ada1: Previously was known as ad6
    
     
  6. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replays guys. Here is some answers.

    Code:
    ls -l /dev/ad1*
    Code:
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            4 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4 -> ada0
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p1 -> ada0p1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p2 -> ada0p2
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad4p3 -> ada0p3
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            4 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6 -> ada1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            6 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6s1 -> ada1s1
    lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel            7 May  6 22:06 /dev/ad6s1d -> ada1s1d
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  88 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  99 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 101 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p2
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 103 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada0p3
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0,  97 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 105 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1s1
    crw-r-----  1 root  operator    0, 111 May  6 22:06 /dev/ada1s1d
    
    and if I take a look at my /etc/fstab

    Code:
    # Device        Mountpoint      FStype  Options Dump    Pass#
    /dev/ada0p2     /               ufs     rw      1       1
    /dev/ada0p3     none            swap    sw      0       0
    
     
  7. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Add to /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    /dev/ada1s1d  /dump ufs rw 2 2
    
    Then mount it with # mount /dump
     
  8. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to reboot after that, right?
     
  9. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nope. Should work right away.
     
  10. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    /etc/fstab

    Code:
    # Device        Mountpoint      FStype  Options Dump    Pass#
    /dev/ada0p2     /               ufs     rw      1       1
    /dev/ada0p3     none            swap    sw      0       0
    /dev/ada1s1d   /dump            ufs     rw      2       2

    Code:
    l4m3rz# mount /dump
    mount: /dump: No such file or directory
    
    Hmm..
     
  11. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,427
    Likes Received:
    16
    The directory you're going to mount(8) a filesystem on needs to exist.

    # mkdir /dump
     
  12. enCyde

    enCyde New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    SirDice.

    You are the man!

    Thanks a lot.