KDE4 does not start when "startx" command is issued

Hello,

Newbie here, I just completed the installation process of FreeBSD 9.2 on an AMD system. After completing the installation of FreeBSD, I proceeded to install X which as far as I can tell installed without any errors. My next step was to install KDE and XCFE, in order to have a few WM options. Again, everything seemed to have installed with no errors. However, when I run startx, I can see xterm, which tells me that X is working, but no KDE. I should mention that both my keyboard and mouse also work. My last step was to issue the following command % echo "exec /usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde" > ~/.xinitrc, but for some odd reason it won't work. Additionally, I've also edited the rc.conf file and added
Code:
kdm4_enable="YES
but kdm does not start after a reboot. Any advise and/or suggestions are welcome.

Hello @good-beastie,

Thanks for the suggestion and to answer your question, yes I did mount /proc like this: mount -t procfs proc /proc and then made the edits as per the handbook. When I'm logged in as my regular user and issue the command startx I'm getting the following error
Code:
exec:/usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde: not found
which I guess means the .xinitrc file has not been created.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi freeze,

Try the .xinitrc without exec, /usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde only. I used that on FreeBSD 8.4-STABLE with success.

In .xinitrc
Code:
#load kde4
/usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde

@good-beastie,

I've added the line of code you posted to my /home/freeze/.xinitrc and still no luck. Now when I run startx,I get the following error:

Code:
/home/freeze/.xinitrc: /urs/local/kde4/bin/startkde: not found

@freeze,

I see a typo in the error message, the path to startkde should be /usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde so try ls -l /usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde or find /usr/local -name startkde to locate it. :)