Compiling out of tree U-Boot

I have been trying to compile U-Boot on AMD64 laptop for ASUS Tinkerboard2. It uses a custom tree.
I also need to compile Raxda tree but I started with the Asus TinkerBoard2

mkdir -r /usr/ports/sysutils/u-boot-tinkerboard2
cd /usr/ports/sysutils/u-boot-tinkerboard2
git clone https://github.com/TinkerBoard2/u-boot.git
cd /usr/ports/sysutils/u-boot-tinkerboard2/u-boot

OK now what? I stared at 4 different setups none FreeBSD.

Where I am stuck is that I am a compiling novice. All these examples use make.
I have only been partially successful with gmake. Going through the configs was educational.
I have built plenty of 'in-ports' u-boot. So I know the stages some.
There is a step in u-boot port building that makes symlinks to compilers.
I think I am missing steps.

Here is my futile attempt:
Code:
gmake tinker2_defconfig
gmake config
gmake savedefconfig
gmake ARCH=arm DESTDIR=/usr/ports/sysutils/u-boot-tinker2/u-boot tinker2_defconfig

Please help me compile u-boot from a manufacturers u-boot source tree.

Getting closer:
gmake SED=gsed HOSTCC=cc CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-none-elf- tinker2_defconfig
gmake SED=gsed HOSTCC=cc CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-none-elf-

Code:
/bin/sh: Syntax error: end of file unexpected (expecting ")")
gmake: *** [Makefile:1410: include/generated/version_autogenerated.h] Error

Where I am stuck is that I am a compiling novice. All these examples use make.
I have only been partially successful with gmake.
On GNU/Linux systems, make is (usually) GNU make. Hence using devel/gmake is indeed the correct thing to do on FreeBSD.

gmake SED=gsed HOSTCC=cc CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-none-elf- tinker2_defconfig
gmake SED=gsed HOSTCC=cc CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-none-elf-
Shouldn't those variable definitions go in front of the call to gmake?

I used the long form I converted from another build from ports tree.