1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BCM4311 broadcom wireless drivers

Discussion in 'System Hardware' started by freedesk, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. freedesk

    freedesk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I installed FreeBSD (8-stable, using memstick) today. I had no problems in installing and getting gnome running. My only problem left is that I'm not able to get my wireless card working.


    Code:
    pciconf -lv | grep -i broadcom
        vendor     = 'Broadcom Corporation'
        device     = 'Broadcom Corporation [U]Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-PCI Card[/U] ([U][B]BCM4311[/B][/U])'

    My card info is shown above. Can someone help me in getting it to work. I don't mind using ndis but I have no idea how to do it. I used ubuntu till yesterday, so never had a problem with the with the wireless driver. I tried bwi-firmware-kmod port, but it did not work. Any pointers regarding this will be of great help.

    Thanks.
     
  2. richardpl

    richardpl New Member

    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use bwn(4) driver with bw[red]n[/red]-firmware-kmod port.
     
  3. freedesk

    freedesk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. But I do not see any wlan0 in ifconfig
    Code:
    $ ifconfig 
    fwe0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	options=8<VLAN_MTU>
    	ether 02:24:1b:33:40:00
    	ch 1 dma -1
    fwip0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	lladdr 0.24.1b.0.95.33.40.0.a.2.ff.fe.0.0.0.0
    nfe0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	options=8<VLAN_MTU>
    	ether 00:1b:24:74:c6:1c
    	inet6 fe80::21b:24ff:fe74:c61c%nfe0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3 
    	inet 192.168.1.108 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
    	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
    	status: active
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
    	options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
    	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
    	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
    	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4 
    Here is what I did:
    Code:
    $ cd /usr/ports/net/bwn-firmware-kmod/
    $ sudo make install clean
    after this I edited the /boot/loader.conf file (using the handbook as the ref):
    Code:
    $ cat /boot/loader.conf  
    nvidia_load="YES"
    [I]if_bwn_load="YES"
    bwn_v4_ucode_load="YES"
    wlan_scan_ap_load="YES"
    wlan_scan_sta_load="YES"
    wlan_wep_load="YES"
    wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
    wlan_tkip_load="YES"[/I]
    rebooted the system but could not find wlan0.

    Could not find anything about *bwn* or *wlan* in dmesg output (or I must have missed something) here is the dmesg output

    Code:
    $ dmesg > Desktop/dmesg_output
    $ cat Desktop/dmesg_output
    Copyright (c) 1992-2009 The FreeBSD Project.
    Copyright (c) 1979, 1980, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
    	The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
    FreeBSD is a registered trademark of The FreeBSD Foundation.
    FreeBSD 8.0-RELEASE #0: Sat Nov 21 15:48:17 UTC 2009
        root@almeida.cse.buffalo.edu:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC
    Timecounter "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 0
    CPU: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58 (1900.20-MHz 686-class CPU)
      Origin = "AuthenticAMD"  Id = 0x60f81  Stepping = 1
      Features=0x178bfbff<FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CLFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,HTT>
      Features2=0x2001<SSE3,CX16>
      AMD Features=0xea500800<SYSCALL,NX,MMX+,FFXSR,RDTSCP,LM,3DNow!+,3DNow!>
      AMD Features2=0x11f<LAHF,CMP,SVM,ExtAPIC,CR8,Prefetch>
    real memory  = 1073741824 (1024 MB)
    avail memory = 957300736 (912 MB)
    ACPI APIC Table: <PTLTD  	 APIC  >
    FreeBSD/SMP: Multiprocessor System Detected: 2 CPUs
    FreeBSD/SMP: 1 package(s) x 2 core(s)
     cpu0 (BSP): APIC ID:  0
     cpu1 (AP): APIC ID:  1
    ioapic0 <Version 1.1> irqs 0-23 on motherboard
    kbd1 at kbdmux0
    acpi0: <HPQOEM SLIC-MPC> on motherboard
    acpi0: [ITHREAD]
    acpi0: Power Button (fixed)
    Timecounter "ACPI-fast" frequency 3579545 Hz quality 1000
    acpi_timer0: <24-bit timer at 3.579545MHz> port 0x1008-0x100b on acpi0
    acpi_ec0: <Embedded Controller: GPE 0x10> port 0x62,0x66 on acpi0
    acpi_hpet0: <High Precision Event Timer> iomem 0xfed00000-0xfed003ff on acpi0
    Timecounter "HPET" frequency 25000000 Hz quality 900
    acpi_button0: <Sleep Button> on acpi0
    acpi_acad0: <AC Adapter> on acpi0
    battery0: <ACPI Control Method Battery> on acpi0
    acpi_lid0: <Control Method Lid Switch> on acpi0
    pcib0: <ACPI Host-PCI bridge> port 0xcf8-0xcff on acpi0
    pci0: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib0
    pci0: <memory, RAM> at device 0.0 (no driver attached)
    isab0: <PCI-ISA bridge> at device 1.0 on pci0
    isa0: <ISA bus> on isab0
    pci0: <serial bus, SMBus> at device 1.1 (no driver attached)
    pci0: <memory, RAM> at device 1.2 (no driver attached)
    pci0: <processor> at device 1.3 (no driver attached)
    ohci0: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> mem 0xf6486000-0xf6486fff irq 18 at device 2.0 on pci0
    ohci0: [ITHREAD]
    usbus0: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> on ohci0
    ehci0: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xf6489000-0xf64890ff irq 22 at device 2.1 on pci0
    ehci0: [ITHREAD]
    usbus1: EHCI version 1.0
    usbus1: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> on ehci0
    ohci1: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> mem 0xf6487000-0xf6487fff irq 18 at device 4.0 on pci0
    ohci1: [ITHREAD]
    usbus2: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> on ohci1
    ehci1: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xf6489400-0xf64894ff irq 22 at device 4.1 on pci0
    ehci1: [ITHREAD]
    usbus3: EHCI version 1.0
    usbus3: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> on ehci1
    atapci0: <nVidia nForce MCP67 UDMA133 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0x30c0-0x30cf at device 6.0 on pci0
    ata0: <ATA channel 0> on atapci0
    ata0: [ITHREAD]
    ata1: <ATA channel 1> on atapci0
    ata1: [ITHREAD]
    pci0: <multimedia, HDA> at device 7.0 (no driver attached)
    pcib1: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 8.0 on pci0
    pci_link0: BIOS IRQ 10 for 2.5.INTA is invalid
    pci_link1: BIOS IRQ 11 for 2.5.INTB is invalid
    pci2: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib1
    fwohci0: <1394 Open Host Controller Interface> irq 9 at device 5.0 on pci2
    fwohci0: [ITHREAD]
    fwohci0: OHCI version 1.10 (ROM=0)
    fwohci0: No. of Isochronous channels is 4.
    fwohci0: EUI64 00:24:1b:00:95:33:40:00
    fwohci0: Phy 1394a available S400, 1 ports.
    fwohci0: Link S400, max_rec 2048 bytes.
    firewire0: <IEEE1394(FireWire) bus> on fwohci0
    dcons_crom0: <dcons configuration ROM> on firewire0
    dcons_crom0: bus_addr 0x1c90000
    fwe0: <Ethernet over FireWire> on firewire0
    if_fwe0: Fake Ethernet address: 02:24:1b:33:40:00
    fwe0: Ethernet address: 02:24:1b:33:40:00
    fwip0: <IP over FireWire> on firewire0
    fwip0: Firewire address: 00:24:1b:00:95:33:40:00 @ 0xfffe00000000, S400, maxrec 2048
    fwohci0: Initiate bus reset
    fwohci0: fwohci_intr_core: BUS reset
    fwohci0: fwohci_intr_core: node_id=0x00000000, SelfID Count=1, CYCLEMASTER mode
    pci2: <base peripheral, SD host controller> at device 5.1 (no driver attached)
    pci2: <base peripheral> at device 5.2 (no driver attached)
    pci2: <base peripheral> at device 5.3 (no driver attached)
    pci2: <base peripheral> at device 5.4 (no driver attached)
    atapci1: <nVidia nForce MCP67 SATA300 controller> port 0x30f0-0x30f7,0x30e4-0x30e7,0x30e8-0x30ef,0x30e0-0x30e3,0x30d0-0x30df mem 0xf6484000-
    0xf6485fff irq 23 at device 9.0 on pci0
    atapci1: [ITHREAD]
    atapci1: AHCI v1.10 controller with 4 3Gbps ports, PM supported
    ata2: <ATA channel 0> on atapci1
    ata2: [ITHREAD]
    ata3: <ATA channel 1> on atapci1
    ata3: [ITHREAD]
    ata4: <ATA channel 2> on atapci1
    ata4: [ITHREAD]
    ata5: <ATA channel 3> on atapci1
    ata5: [ITHREAD]
    nfe0: <NVIDIA nForce MCP67 Networking Adapter> port 0x30f8-0x30ff mem 0xf6488000-0xf6488fff,0xf6489c00-0xf6489cff,0xf6489800-0xf648980f irq 20 
    at device 10.0 on pci0
    miibus0: <MII bus> on nfe0
    rlphy0: <RTL8201L 10/100 media interface> PHY 1 on miibus0
    rlphy0:  10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, auto
    nfe0: Ethernet address: 00:1b:24:74:c6:1c
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    nfe0: [FILTER]
    pcib2: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 12.0 on pci0
    pci4: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib2
    pcib3: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 13.0 on pci0
    pci3: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib3
    pci3: <network> at device 0.0 (no driver attached)
    vgapci0: <VGA-compatible display> mem 0xf5000000-0xf5ffffff,0xd0000000-0xdfffffff,0xf4000000-0xf4ffffff irq 16 at device 18.0 on pci0
    nvidia0: <GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M> on vgapci0
    vgapci0: child nvidia0 requested pci_enable_busmaster
    vgapci0: child nvidia0 requested pci_enable_io
    vgapci0: child nvidia0 requested pci_enable_io
    nvidia0: [ITHREAD]
    acpi_button1: <Power Button> on acpi0
    acpi_tz0: <Thermal Zone> on acpi0
    acpi_tz0: _CRT value is absurd, ignored (-273.2C)
    atrtc0: <AT realtime clock> port 0x70-0x71 on acpi0
    atkbdc0: <Keyboard controller (i8042)> port 0x60,0x64 irq 1 on acpi0
    atkbd0: <AT Keyboard> irq 1 on atkbdc0
    kbd0 at atkbd0
    atkbd0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
    atkbd0: [ITHREAD]
    psm0: <PS/2 Mouse> irq 12 on atkbdc0
    psm0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
    psm0: [ITHREAD]
    psm0: model IntelliMouse, device ID 3
    cpu0: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
    acpi_throttle0: <ACPI CPU Throttling> on cpu0
    powernow0: <PowerNow! K8> on cpu0
    cpu1: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
    acpi_throttle1: <ACPI CPU Throttling> on cpu1
    acpi_throttle1: failed to attach P_CNT
    device_attach: acpi_throttle1 attach returned 6
    powernow1: <PowerNow! K8> on cpu1
    pmtimer0 on isa0
    orm0: <ISA Option ROM> at iomem 0xcf800-0xd0fff pnpid ORM0000 on isa0
    sc0: <System console> at flags 0x100 on isa0
    sc0: VGA <16 virtual consoles, flags=0x300>
    vga0: <Generic ISA VGA> at port 0x3c0-0x3df iomem 0xa0000-0xbffff on isa0
    ppc0: parallel port not found.
    Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
    firewire0: 1 nodes, maxhop <= 0 cable IRM irm(0)  (me) 
    firewire0: bus manager 0 
    usbus0: 12Mbps Full Speed USB v1.0
    usbus1: 480Mbps High Speed USB v2.0
    usbus2: 12Mbps Full Speed USB v1.0
    usbus3: 480Mbps High Speed USB v2.0
    acpi_tz0: _CRT value is absurd, ignored (-273.2C)
    ad4: 152627MB <WDC WD1600BEVS-60RST0 04.01G04> at ata2-master SATA150
    ugen0.1: <nVidia> at usbus0
    uhub0: <nVidia OHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus0
    ugen1.1: <nVidia> at usbus1
    uhub1: <nVidia EHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus1
    ugen2.1: <nVidia> at usbus2
    uhub2: <nVidia OHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus2
    ugen3.1: <nVidia> at usbus3
    uhub3: <nVidia EHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus3
    uhub2: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
    uhub0: 7 ports with 7 removable, self powered
    SMP: AP CPU #1 Launched!
    Root mount waiting for: usbus3 usbus1
    uhub3: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
    Root mount waiting for: usbus3 usbus1
    ugen2.2: <Broadcom Corp> at usbus2
    Root mount waiting for: usbus1
    uhub1: 7 ports with 7 removable, self powered
    Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ad4s1a
    
    I'm not able to figure out how to get this working. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  4. wblock@

    wblock@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    Messages:
    11,252
    Likes Received:
    25
    There's also a bwn_v4_lp_ucode required by some cards. It should show a message if it needs that, but you may not see it without
    % dmesg -a
     
  5. freedesk

    freedesk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried dmesg -a earlier but it did not show anything.
    But next I added
    Code:
    bwn_v4_lp_ucode
    in the /boot/loader.conf as shown below:
    Code:
    $ cat /boot/loader.conf 
    nvidia_load="YES"
    [I]if_bwn_load="YES"
    [U]bwn_v4_lp_ucode_load="YES"[/U]
    bwn_v4_ucode_load="YES"
    wlan_scan_ap_load="YES"
    wlan_scan_sta_load="YES"
    wlan_wep_load="YES"
    wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
    wlan_tkip_load="YES"[/I]
    
    Then I looked into
    Code:
    dmesg -a
    and found the following lined for the bwn:
    Code:
    firmware_register: cannot register image bwn_v4_b0g0initvals5, firmware table fu
    ll!
    module_register_init: MOD_LOAD (bwn_v4_ucode_fw, 0xc1a16e70, 0) error 6
    Please find the
    Code:
    dmesg -a
    output attached.

    I also tried using only
    Code:
    bwn_v4_lp_ucode_load="YES"
    without
    Code:
    bwn_v4_ucode_load="YES"
    in the loader.conf But nothing happened.
    So what else can be tried now?


    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. pbd

    pbd New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Note that you need to create wlan device after your network card is recognized.

    Code:
    ifconfig [I]wlan0[/I] create wlandev [I]...[/I]
    See the Hanbook.
     
  7. thuglife

    thuglife New Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that you need this patch [r204849] for the firmware to load.
     
  8. freedesk

    freedesk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried but it always ends up like below:

    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev bwn0
    ifconfig: SIOCIFCREATE2: Device not configured
    
    is the device name correct (bwn0)? I'm not sure. If it is correct does it mean card not supported?

    How do we apply patches in the port system. I read in the hand book that the files directory contains the patches. So I just download the patch, name it to something, create a files directory, mv the patch downloaded to this directory and then make install. Is this correct. Does the makefile look in the files directory automatically, or do we have to change/add anything.

    Thanks.
     
  9. thuglife

    thuglife New Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok , it seems that you don't have bwn0.

    Please do:
    # kldload if_bwn
    # kldload if_bwi

    and post the output of # ifconfig and any relevant lines from # dmesg
     
  10. freedesk

    freedesk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I do kldload (both of them) I get
    Code:
    kldload: can't load if_bwi: No such file or directory
    kldload: can't load if_bwn: No such file or directory
    
    And no messages for them found in dmesg -a.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks
     
  11. thuglife

    thuglife New Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. richardpl

    richardpl New Member

    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    thuglife is right. Next time do not misstate your FreeBSD version.