Any other Squeezebox fans out there?

Hi all,

Not a tech question, I was just curious to find out if there are any fellow Logitech (nee Slim Devices) Squeezebox users out there, running Squeezecenter on FreeBSD?

I've been running mine 24/7 for a couple of years now, no probs (apart from self-induced ones ;)). I'm still in awe that a) a mainstream devices supports FreeBSD and b) the squeezecenter server is actually in ports. How awesome it that?

I know it is the intersection of two fairly limited niches, but is there anyone else out there? :)

/s

I run Squeezecenter on FreeBSD, and use SMB automount to mount my iTunes library (which is on a separate Windows storage server). I would like to see a better front-end than softsqueeze for this server. Like a squeezebox for the computer but with better interface: visualizations, organizing and and tagging music, etc.

Ooop, missed your reply :r

Glad to see I'm not entirely alone. I kind of do the opposite to you - My FreeBSD server runs SqueezeCenter but also hosts the library, which it makes available to my xp laptop via samba. Works great.

I wrote a crude cron bash script with the idea of maintaining downsampled mirrors of the main tune library, which is FLAC rips from CD. The idea was to always have compressed ogg or mp3 versions of the library, for use on portable players etc. The script needs some more work though.

I'm with you though, we could do with a better soft-player. For me it's fine using winamp but it's not as nice as having a proper 'SC-aware' player. I tried softsqueeze a while back but it just chewed up CPU :(, and I didn't feel that the excellent squeezebox UI was really appropriate for a desktop environment.

sim

sim said:
I wrote a crude cron bash script with the idea of maintaining downsampled mirrors of the main tune library

Ambitious! Let me know how it goes. I would be interested in seeing the script.

-Dave