No sound with USB speakers

Hi forums,

I've never tried to get sound working before but so far have managed to stumble along OK by Googling and searching other forums.

I have sound working through the front audio/headphone jack by loading snd_hda (Realtek ALC885 sound card), but want to get my Bose speakers working.

The speakers connect to my computer via USB and are detected on bootup:
Code:
uhid2: <Bose Corporation Bose USB Audio, class 0/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 2> on uhub3

Not sure what other output is needed, but here's /etc/sndstat:
Code:
hackedpackard# cat /dev/sndstat
FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm: 32bit 2007061600/i386)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #0 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex default)
pcm1: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #1 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex)
pcm2: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #2 Digital> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex)
pcm3: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #3 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (0p:0v/1r:1v channels)

At this point I'm not sure how I'm supposed to redirect sound from the front audio jack to the USB speakers.

You will need to load a driver for the USB audio. Try kldload'ing snd_driver and see what else is detected besides the HDA audio.

I loaded snd_driver and $ ls /dev now shows an additional device, /dev/dsp1.1.

I read elsewhere that the numbering of /dev/dsp matches the pcm numbers. If I $ cat /dev/sndstat:
Code:
Installed devices:
pcm0: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #0 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex default)
pcm1: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #1 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex)
pcm2: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #2 Digital> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0 kld snd_hda [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex)