9.1 -> 9.2 virtio drivers

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
I'm wondering if anybody has tried to upgrade FreeBSD 9.1 to 9.2 while running with emulators/virtio-kmod. FreeBSD 9.2 should have them included now and the port isn't needed anymore. But if I upgrade how can I make sure the correct ones are loaded? If the upgrade goes sour I wouldn't be able to recover and I'd have to reinstall my VPS.

First, I'm a noob.

Second, I have upgraded my VPS from 9.1 to 9.2-RC1. I did not disable the virtio-kmod until after the upgrade was complete. Then I removed package for virtio-kmod. I had installed the package from http://people.freebsd.org/~kuriyama/virtio/.

All I know is that it didn't break. :D

I did see a 50% increase in my download speed, but it is still not up to what I have been able to obtain with Debian. I'm seeing ~34 MB/s with FreeBSD 9.2-RC1 and ~60 MB/s with Debian.

..sorry forgot to tell that i have edit the "GENERIC" Kernel Config
and saved it with uneeded modules as "custom" but i found no option
of "virtio"?

Forgot to mention that I have edited the GENERIC kernel configuration file and saved it with unneeded modules as 'custom', but I found no option for virtio

Solved!

Inside GENERIC of KERNEL-GENERIC-9.2-FILE was NOT:
Code:
device          virtio          # Generic VirtIO bus (required)
device          virtio_pci      # VirtIO PCI Interface
device          vtnet           # VirtIO Ethernet device
device          virtio_blk      # VirtIO Block device
device          virtio_scsi     # VirtIO SCSI device
device          virtio_balloon  # VirtIO Memory Balloon device
but I found it in /usr/src/sys/amd64/conf/NOTES

SirDice said:
I'm wondering if anybody has tried to upgrade FreeBSD 9.1 to 9.2 while running with emulators/virtio-kmod.
Funny you should ask ;)

Code:
gadget:/home/peter $ uname -a