Proper procedure on intrusion-detection?

Hi!

I was not sure were to put this, so I do apologize if this is a little off-topic.

I'm still new to FreeBSD but I'm already totally hooked. I love it.

By chance, I happened to take a look at the file:

/var/log/auth.log

I noticed there was quite a few entries where sshd reported of:

Code:
Invalid user foo from xx.xx.xx.xx

The list reports of all kinds of usernames from different ip-adresses. I did a "whois"-lookup on some of these adresses and they're coming from all over. So, eh, anyway, I was wondering, what does one do in cases like this? Report it to the abuse department of the owner of ip-adresses? Something else? Nothing? Learn from it :) Is there a "best-practice" or something?

Sincerly

You'll never see the end of it, there are tens of millions of compromised systems, controlled by dozens of botnet operators. Most abuse desks have no idea where to start or what to do.

Install a bruteforce-blocker and let it feed your firewall, or use the firewall to open up ports to selected IPs only.

Install software as suggested by above poster.

Configure firewall and grant limited access to ssh and other services.

Change SSH port.

Configure public keybased login for ssh.

Install host-based intrusion detection system such as AIDE.

Use jails for httpd, smtpd, mysqld services.

Watch log files and read email. FreeBSD sent security audit reports via cron. You can also use software like logwatch to get detailed information.

Secure root account and only grant admin level access via sudo.

Run kernel is highest security level when everything is configured properly by setting kern.securelevel.

Put limits on disk usage, email usage, network sockets, open files etc.

Read security man page for all basic info.
security()

vivek said:
Install software as suggested by above poster.

Configure firewall and grant limited access to ssh and other services.

Change SSH port.

Configure public keybased login for ssh.