Best backup practices for ZFS with whole disk encryption on a laptop?

(This is my first post and a somewhat long post. I know what I want my computer to do, but don't know exactly how to make it happen, though I have some rough ideas. I figured getting a plan together before I start installing and making decisions would be best.)

I'm a newbie to FreeBSD (in fact, I haven't installed it yet), but have some experience with Linux (primarily Red Hat Enterprise Linux clones). I would like to switch my computer to FreeBSD sometime next month. My computer is a Lenovo ThinkPad T420i (4177-CTO) with 8 GB of RAM (upgradable to 16 GB if need be), and I will be installing a 256 GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD.

What I would like to do is use FreeBSD as a host operating system for VirtualBox and do all of my computing inside the VMs (Windows XP, Windows 7, Scientific Linux, and others), having the host manage just inter-VM communication (e.g. shared folders), power, internet, and other hardware-related functions. The reason for this is needing programs that are exclusive to one platform or another and wanting to run them simultaneously. Furthermore, I would like my computing environment to be portable so that if I ever need to change my computer (upgrade or replacement) the transition will be as seamless as possible. For this, I know I need a robust backup solution.