FreeBSD on old computers

I'm new to FreeBSD, but have been using Ubuntu almost exclusively since 2006.

I'm looking into FreeBSD to put on some very old computers to put into the local village hall in a tiny town, so that people can read their email when the library is not open, but someone is in the city hall.

I've got several machines that I'm making into one usable one. However, they're very slow with Ubuntu, even Lubuntu. Especially with Unity being loaded by default with Ubuntu, old machines that don't have the hardware capabilities for such graphics just choke.

I've also just created a database application for catalogs in small libraries. Most of them cost over $100K, and one for about $10K is set up to monitize the information from library patrons checkout patterns. Argh! I got it running with about a week or two of actual work.

Anyway, someone wants to use it for their small museum collection, locally. They're a small, non-profit, operating on a shoestring budget. It would probably take about 2 hours to modify the library cataloging software for museum use - it would be a simpler application.

Anyway, my real question is "Will FreeBSD meet my needs for these projects?" The questions are:
1) What are the minimum memory requirements for FreeBSD?
2) Is there a way to install MySQL on the machine itself, as some applications do not have to be on a website?
3) Is there a way to install PHP, as that's the language I have my scripts written in. They could be ported to some other language to use a database on the local machine, but I'd prefer to reuse code segments as much as possible.

I've had a suggestion for BSD or FreeBSD, from someone using their system in an entirely different way, and no concrete information. Hopefully, someone can give me more information.