Is there some sort of shakeup going on?

A cvsup from earlier today showed dougb relinquishing maintanership of a number of ports, with commit messages like:

ports/dns/bind99/Makefile said:
Throw my ports back in the pool, and make my intentions clear for the various ports that I've created.

I bid fond fare well
A chapter closes for me
What opens for you?

I don't see anything about this on the freebsd.org homepage, and all of the FreeBSD mailing lists are reporting "Error 503 Service Unavailable". http://people.freebsd.org/~dougb/ gives a 404 Not Found.

I sense a vast disturbance in the Force...

No, these are two unrelated events. dougb decided to leave. At the same time, there is a project switching many of the main FreeBSD systems to a different facility. Don't panic.

I'm new to FreeBSD, so I don't know who Doug is...
Yet thanks for all the development, and thanks to everyone else that has worked and keeps on working with FreeBSD.

I really, really, reeeaalllyyy like this OS!

UNIXgod said:
Is there someone lined up to take over portmaster development?

Or rather, with the impending /var/db/pkg >> /pkg/; csup >> svn; new port options framework; deprecation of portmanager... is there some equally adept coder to temporarily, or longer, oversee the portmaster development ? Just wanting to "me too..."

Even these posings only show a fragment of the whole picture, and it is one that seems to be EOL anyway. It seems like this has been going on some time already and now it is way too late to mend anything.

I would like to thank dougb for all his work and commitment, life is too short to bear all what we might want to. So take what way you want, and maybe it will lead you around the other side of the mountain and meet us again.