ZFS and disk labeling question

So I've read a lot of advice about always making sure to give ZFS the "whole disk", but I'd also like to label the drives using something like gpt labels so they'll be easier to located in this 70 drive MDS600 I've bought.

Are these two wants in contradiction? If I label with gpt but still give ZFS the full disk will things still be "OK"? Or is the advice to always use whole disks outdated or no longer as important?

Thanks.

There's nothing wrong with using GPT to create a partition on the disk, especially if you want to align access to the disk sectors. Then label the partition. And then use 'gpt/labelname' as the disk device for creating the vdevs:

# zpool create mypool raidz2 gpt/disk-a1 gpt/disk-a2 gpt/disk-a3 gpt/disk-a4 ...

Hi.

I'm relatively new to FreeBSD with no experience in this area. However, I've spent half of my day reading up on labels, and have a few comments. I'm hoping that someone like phoenix who is more experienced with labels might have some more to say on this topic.

I started the day with the same problem as craigyk, though smaller -- namely, I have a 16 disk storage unit with da0 through da15 that has wacky numbering (eg. da4 is disk 9). Now, up until today, I was just using whole devices (eg. /dev/da4) in my zpool create because that's what the FreeBSD documentation demonstrated, that's what the various Solaris-based ZFS tutorials mention, etc, and after all, it seems "easiest", even though it meant that in the case of replacing a disk, I had to be extra extra careful that I was removing the right disk.