Manually connecting to a wireless WPA-protected network.

Hello everyone,
I am completely new to both FreeBSD and this forum so please bear with me. I believe I am following the forum rules and guidelines, but please forgive me if I'm doing something wrong.

I have successfully installed FreeBSD-9.0-STABLE on my ASUS 1225B laptop and I have created the kernel modules (is it "modules" or "drivers"?) for my Broadcom wireless network adapter (BCM4313) using ndisgen. In order to use these modules I placed them in the /boot/modules/ directory, and created the following /etc/rc.d script (I first tried to load the modules from /boot/loader.conf, but doing so the kernel wouldn't boot at all):
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# PROVIDE: bcm4313
# REQUIRE: NETWORKING
# BEFORE: LOGIN
# KEYWORD: nojail

. /etc/rc.subr

name="bcm4313"
start_cmd="${name}_start"
stop_cmd=":"

bcm4313_start()
{
   echo "Loading Broadcom BCM4313 NDIS kernel modules."
   kldload bcm43xx64.cat.ko
   kldload bcmwlcoi64.dll.ko
   kldload bcmwl564_sys.ko
}

load_rc_config $name
run_rc_command "$1"
I then added the following lines to /etc/rc.conf:
Code:
wlans_ndis0="wlan0"
ifconfig_wlan0="WPA SYNCDHCP"
And the following lines to /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:
network={
   ssid="<router name>"
   psk="<router wpa key>"
}
Now, by doing this I had a fully established wireless connection as soon as I had logged in to FreeBSD (I am saying "had" because I have since reinstalled the whole system; I have recreated the /etc/rc.conf and /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf files exactly as they were, however I don't remember exactly how I wrote the /etc/rc.d script, and I believe that the modules are being loaded a little too soon or too late, because I now end up with a kernel panic a couple of seconds after the login screen appears, but this is not why I am writing this thread).