So long xf86-video-ati UMS support

From #radeon on IRC this morning.

Code:
<airlied> 71 files changed, 728 insertions(+), 57306 deletions(-)
<airlied> ums go bye bye
<airlied> now to test it runs :)
<carli2> airlied: 71 files changed... where? in xorg?
<airlied> carli2: -ati driver
<carli2> airlied: what exactly did you improve?
<airlied> carli2: my life :)
<airlied> no more UMS

User modesetting will continue to exist in a separate branch, but unless someone steps up to maintain the UMS codebase, it will likely cease to work with future versions of the X server, and start suffering (more than it already has) from bit rot.

Adam

wblock@ said:
Not yet, anyway.

I found this. Any support for KMS/Radeon yet? I am new to Freebsd. Got almost everything working except for my card. I get poor resolution. Any Xorg.conf would not work because of KMS error message. Any workaround?

Thanks

wblock@ said:
No, there is no support for it yet.

Is there a way around it? A nightly build that supports it? What I don't get is that if it's not available yet, why can't I use the old ATI drivers? Thanks!

The old (existing) drivers fully support Radeon cards up to the 4000-series. Some 5000-series cards have partial support, enough to be useful for desktop-type stuff.

The driver requires KMS support for later cards. Thanks to a Foundation-funded effort, we now have Intel KMS support in the FreeBSD kernel. To support the KMS Radeon code, much more work needs to be done. The Foundation has offered to fund the AMD/ATI porting/conversion effort, but so far there have been no takers. It's a complicated job that requires knowledge in several different areas.

wblock@ said:
The old (existing) drivers fully support Radeon cards up to the 4000-series. Some 5000-series cards have partial support, enough to be useful for desktop-type stuff.