How Secure is FreeBSD?

Hello :)

I am extremely new to this platform and just starting to get the hang of it and forgetting everything I know since I'm coming over from a Windows/Dos background.

Out of the box, how secure is FreeBSD?

Reason I am asking is that I plan to do some web server hosting with possible ecommerce down the line.

Thanks!

J

srzxj2 said:
Secure enough. Why is this relevant? You're going to have to configure the box anyway.

See security(7) and [thread=4108]Unofficial FreeBSD Security Checklist / Links / Resources[/thread]

Thanks for the quick reply SirDice :)

Yes I will need to configure the box but at the same time I don't want to open myself up to vulnerabilities. Again I am extremely new to this.

I'll read through the provided links, much appreciated!

J

srzxj2 said:
Yes I will need to configure the box but at the same time I don't want to open myself up to vulnerabilities.
After you installed FreeBSD make sure you update it. Even FreeBSD has its security problems but they are far and few between.

FreeBSD Security Information
FreeBSD Security Advisories

One thing you probably will have to get used to is the strict separation of the base OS and ports. It's more or less comparable to Windows Update (which basically only updates Windows itself) and the various update tools and services third party applications use.

If you are totally new to the UNIX world (including Linux) then it would be good to know:

Unlike Windows, a UNIX server doesn't have to be listening on many OS related ports (this is great for security).
For example, if you want to have a web server, you can have it only listening on port 80 (probably you will have Ssh too) and then your server is as secure as your web server (ie Apache HTTPD).
For keeping on top of known vulnerabilites, always install packages via ports (where available) and use portaudit(1) to regularly check for problems on installed packages.