Connect To Remote Database

Hello All,

I'm new to FreeBSD and started to use it before 2 months.

I'm running FreeBSD using Virtual Machine software... and I faced a problem and couldn't solve it and also didn't find any accurate solution for it.

The problem is that I'm unable to connect remotely to MySQL database, while the same code connects fine in the same network.

I was able to connect remotely to my server via FTP, SSH and some online games, but couldn't connect with my PHP code.

Should I use my IP or the Dynamic DNS?

I tried the following commands with no errors but didn't work too:
Code:
mysql> GRANT ALL ON *.* TO root@"%" IDENTIFIED BY 'MyPassword' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> GRANT ALL ON *.* TO root@'sub.mydomain.com' IDENTIFIED BY 'MyPassword';

Some articles asked to modify the file "my.cnf" but I didn't find it anywhere in my FreeBSD, so do I need to use this file too?

I'm using FreeBSD 7.2-Release, MySQL-5.0.90 and also connecting to my server using DynamicDNS.

So is it possible to connect from my website to MySQL database on my server?

Thanks in advance

Thank you for your reply.

I'm getting this Error:
Code:
Lost connection to MySQL server during query

My PHP code is in the attachments.

Also I tried to check the ports with "fsockopen" but didn't work too.

I have no problem to give the real info about DB and server if it's needed, because this a test server and I use it for academic reasons and I will make new one when everything is ok.

Regards,

Use the mysql command from the server that needs to connect to the database server.

mysql(1)

And another note, don't use the MySQL root account. Create an account specifically for the website. Even if it's just for test.

Hello,

I'm still unable to fix that and cant connect to MySQL located in my server.
I got this error:

12315484763.jpg

Attachments

• Error.JPG
    Error.JPG
    13.8 KB · Views: 562
Code:
man mysql
suggests the long form options. Try
Code: