Debian--->FreeBSD

Dear All,

No intention to start a flamewar at all. I have been using Debian happily for several years (though I am far from an expert or someone with professional skills).

I may get a spare laptop for personal use in the near future and I am considering the idea of installing an OS different from linux. I am considering freeBSD FreeBSD, but what are the pros/cons of such a choice? Hardware detection is crucial to me (e.g. I do not want/do not have the time to spend hours to get the wireless working) and so are the scientific tools available (R, SciPy, Mayavi2, Python etc...).

I should also add that I have absolutely zero experience with freebsd FreeBSD so I hope to be able to at least go beyond the installation.

Cheers

larry77

larry77 said:
I am considering freeBSD, but what are the pros/cons of such a choice?
Look around this board, there are already numerous topics covering this.

Hardware detection is crucial to me (e.g. I do not want/do not have the time to spend hours to get the wireless working)
Honesty bids me to tell you that FreeBSD isn't for you then. If you want to play with FreeBSD be prepared to spend hours getting stuff working. You will need to get your hands dirty. Everything, and I mean everything, needs to be configured by hand. But once you get it working it'll work like a charm.

google search:

scipy NEAR freebsd

Although you can dual boot[1] or use your laptop and debian machines concurrently or something... IMHO freebsd FreeBSD would be an excellent choice with only a few gotchas. See the "favorite linux" and "laptops that run bsd" etc threads on this forum maybe...

[1] back up the data you want to save first.

larry77 said:
I may get a spare laptop for personal use in the near future and I am considering the idea of installing an OS different from linux. I am considering FreeBSD
What are this laptop hardware specs mate? (chipset/gfx/cpu/lan/wifi)

but what are the pros/cons of such a choice?