Updating to new package versions

Hello all,

First things first, I want to let the readers know that I'm a noob with the FreeBSD system. I have installed FreeBSD on my machine (dual-boot) with Debian Sid being my main OS of choice. The reason for FreeBSD was mainly to play around with BSD and learn to use it too.

After the installation of 7.0-RELEASE (which was done a few months ago), I setup GRUB to have an entry for it. More recently, during the holidays, I was searching on how to upgrade the packages installed on the system. When I found out how to do the security updates, I saw the message (during the update) that my 7.0 was nearing its EOL so I should upgrade my system.

The next step after security updates was upgrading the base system to 7.1-RC2. That went pretty fine except for the fact that the default mirrors gave crappy download speeds x(

Now, at this point I want to upgrade the packages to their latest versions. I know how to use pkg_add to install a binary package, but I have not been able to find a way to upgrade e.g. Firefox from 2.0.0.12 to a 3.x version. The only way that I been able to find it via the ports system which builds from source.

Taking into consideration that I'm not using the system as my primary one and don't want to wait for more than half an hour so that the system can compile Firefox for me, is there a way to get the new binary versions of the installed packages e.g. Firefox, Gnome, Epiphany, etc. I don't expect the bleeding edge versions of the packages that I have in Debian Sid, but still something more recent than e.g. Firefox 2.0.0.12 would be great.

So that means I will have to install all the packages myself manually, one-by-one? That wouldn't be an efficient way to upgrade the packages.

Any other suggestions?