bash vs sh vs mksh benchmark

intro

All 3 are sh compatible

I did a little benchmark for university. Originally I wasn't going to publish this, but then I decided what the heck, with the growing number of bash users

I did 3 test, one with bash one with mksh and one with sh. Before each test I rebooted my pc, to flush system cache
I was using my playd script to create playlist of 10K music files and god knows how many directories

bash
thumb_show.php

mksh
thumb_show.php

sh
thumb_show.php

Conclusion
as you can see mksh and sh beats the shit out of bash
I didn't thought mksh would perform so close to sh

re: shells/ksh93:port needs to be updated, it's looking for INIT.2010-03-01.tgz (at least to start with) and the version on the server is INIT.2010-03-09.tgz . . . I suppose they've bumped the numbers on all the other source files as well.

j_m said:
I am new to any shells, it seems that mksh attracts me.
A word of wisdom for you: pick a shell based on things which matter instead of things which might look cool or neat yet basically have little meaning.

Being familiar with the way a shell works (for example; you can quickly automate certain tasks) is far more valuable (or better: usable) than using one which might start a few microseconds faster than its competitors.

ShelLuser said:
A word of wisdom for you: pick a shell based on things which matter instead of things which might look cool or neat yet basically have little meaning.

Being familiar with the way a shell works (for example; you can quickly automate certain tasks) is far more valuable (or better: usable) than using one which might start a few microseconds faster than its competitors.

mksh is perfect for that.
  • It's fast
  • It's 100% sh compatible
  • It's very su-able

ksh93 is weird for most users because is uses a command edit system like vim, but it is one of the standard shells. Some old Unices carried it as an alternative to sh.