PDA

View Full Version : [closed] IP banned on forums.freebsd.org - don't post, contact a mod.


ZOleg
June 15th, 2011, 02:14
I change ISPs and now can not open forums.freebsd.org (my new IP x.32, network x.0/20).
Why you block some ip/net?

ZOleg
June 15th, 2011, 02:21
Last login: Sun Jun 12 10:26:18 on console
zserver:~ ZOleg$ traceroute forums.freebsd.org
traceroute to freebsd-forums.liquidneon.com (149.20.54.209), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 172.16.1.1 (172.16.1.1) 0.803 ms 2.284 ms 2.154 ms
2 10.100.100.1 (10.100.100.1) 0.913 ms 1.704 ms 1.523 ms
3 srv-21.u2net.ru (188.128.47.21) 1.628 ms 1.735 ms 2.222 ms
4 uude-d1-hq-gi0-0-2.13.main.synterra.ru (83.229.170.101) 2.303 ms 2.203 ms 2.222 ms
5 83.229.226.101 (83.229.226.101) 92.174 ms
msk-b4-hq-ae0.main.synterra.ru (83.229.225.5) 154.004 ms 96.018 ms
6 ae4.rt.m9.msk.ru.retn.net (87.245.254.173) 96.572 ms 96.304 ms 96.065 ms
7 xe000-8.rt.tlx.nyc.us.retn.net (87.245.233.114) 218.729 ms 218.912 ms 237.550 ms
8 * * *
9 int-0-5-0-0.r1.pao1.isc.org (149.20.65.137) 303.157 ms 297.969 ms 303.259 ms
10 int-0-0-1-0.r1.sql1.isc.org (149.20.65.10) 333.148 ms 298.427 ms 325.914 ms
11 forums.freebsd.org (149.20.54.209) 290.077 ms 290.124 ms 291.372 ms
zserver:~ ZOleg$ ping forums.freebsd.org
PING freebsd-forums.liquidneon.com (149.20.54.209): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
Request timeout for icmp_seq 4
Request timeout for icmp_seq 5
Request timeout for icmp_seq 6
Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
Request timeout for icmp_seq 8
Request timeout for icmp_seq 9
Request timeout for icmp_seq 10
Request timeout for icmp_seq 11
Request timeout for icmp_seq 12
^C
--- freebsd-forums.liquidneon.com ping statistics ---
14 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
zserver:~ ZOleg$

Beastie
June 15th, 2011, 07:24
I may be wrong, but it's probably the other way around - your ISP is blocking the FreeBSD forums, and maybe also many other (or all) forums.

Try accessing it through a web proxy (e.g. Hide My Ass).

SirDice
June 15th, 2011, 09:34
It might be possible that the forums are blocking IP ranges. I've seen other forums where this happens. It's usually done to control the influx of spam.

DutchDaemon
June 15th, 2011, 11:02
We've seen spam activity from several ranges in this network, yes, and we use several independent and specialized sources/blacklists to compile these listings, so it is certainly not a mistake. I have limited the listing to the part of that network that has the most spam sources, so you should be in the clear for now. This is no guarantee for the future, thought. If spam flows, the block goes .. Spam is the #1 threat to forums, and we actively defend ourselves against it.

ZOleg
June 16th, 2011, 02:24
We've seen spam activity from several ranges in this network, yes, and we use several independent and specialized sources/blacklists to compile these listings, so it is certainly not a mistake. I have limited the listing to the part of that network that has the most spam sources, so you should be in the clear for now. This is no guarantee for the future, thought. If spam flows, the block goes .. Spam is the #1 threat to forums, and we actively defend ourselves against it.

Now all ok, thanks!
I have static IP, please add my ip in white list.

DutchDaemon
June 17th, 2011, 17:14
Or ask your ISP to tackle the spam problem ..

Ceress
June 21st, 2011, 12:51
I guess you banned some networks due to some reasons. I see problems via x.22, x.232 (x/22) and x177 (x.176/30 NAT). Could you tell why these IPs was banned? And in case of spam and other issues tell their ip's.

SirDice
June 21st, 2011, 12:58
Probably the same reason as this one: 24420

Ceress
June 21st, 2011, 13:28
Yep, I know it is most likely spam, but I want to know ip's on subnet x sending spam and if really part of NAT (x/30) banned for the same issue or just accompany one other ip, sending spam.

And yes, if you have some special e-mail for spam-related cases I can write there.

kpa
June 21st, 2011, 13:55
Those addresses are public ip addresses and they are dealt separately on blocklists so I doubt they are related. Btw. NAT is when a group of addresses is hidden behind one ip address, what you probably meant there is subnet x.176/30 (detecting if an address is a NAT point is pretty hard from the outside, hence my remark).

DutchDaemon
June 21st, 2011, 14:02
If you have questions about specific blocks, contact me. I'm not going to tell people on the forums they are spreading malware and trojans .. and posting your IPs on public forums is usually not smart either. It's an abuse magnet and an attack vector.